galloping horses
inspiration

Stop Procrastinating And Become An Action Hero


We all face situations when everything around conspires against our goals.

You wake up feeling low only to realize that you have a deadline the next day. There are times when everything in the world is more attractive than the task at hand. If you have an essay to give, your mind wanders around the house chores. If you have an interview, you might be tempted to play your favorite game and beat your highest scores.

“Nothing is so fatiguing as the eternal hanging on of an uncompleted task.” ~William James

If you are having the perfect, productive day every day, you have mastered the art of  un-procrastination. Let me know how you did it! For the remaining majority of us, the in-action bug catches us from time to time.

Have you gone through a Monday morning fighting vacation blues only to realize at 3pm that your work day hasn’t really started ? Have you have spent the weekend with friends to wake up on Monday with pending house chores ? I’m no productive genius. I’ve been in both those situations.

Recently, as I was faced with a similar procrastinating feeling, things took a new turn. I wasted my entire Sunday watching TV, Movies, Facebook and lazying around. There were several home maintenance chores to accomplish and a specific project that I had put off for the entire week.

Finally I decided enough was enough. Here’s what I did to convert procrastination to action!

1. Initiate with a tiny step to gain momentum

In my case, I asked for help with this project. Having someone to work with created the momentum that I was missing in my day. I explained my situation with a specific tiny ask. My question was answered and I came back to my desk. I had made a small difference to the mundane hour. It took me less than two minutes to carry out. The remaining day was 5 times more productive and one small step is all it took to get started.

2. Make it fun and move past the inertia

Now, I wasn’t willing to settle into a dreary, boring day and needed something peppy and fun around me. I cleared my desk & computer desktop, cleaned it with wipes and arranged everything neatly around me. My environment felt clear and open. Next, I turned on my study-table lamp and that helped me focus on my workstation.

A cup of tea and foot-tapping Bollywood music came next. To end it all, I changed my desktop wallpaper to a fun theme. This 15 minute exercise had me moving around and feeling energized. All these changes created a productive ambiance and I was enjoying my project.

Here’s the Bollywood play list if you want to indulge. It’s the energy and the vivacious beats that make any task seem fun. Find your happy trigger and make it happen.

3. Take breaks and come back

The key to taking action is in knowing that you’re not doing this task forever. Create time buckets of 45 minutes to 1 hour. A sore back or heavy shoulders mean it’s time to take a break. You need to be persistent with yourself. Don’t enslave your mind by your tasks and burn yourself out.

A short walk. Conversations on the phone with a friend. A quick errand. Anything that helps you disconnect and refreshes is good.

In my case, I love taking a walk. Sometimes, I’ll just walked out to the patio and enjoyed the breeze for a few moments.

4. Do something that makes you feel good

Compliment your spouse, give a small gift, read your favorite blog, tweet your favorite quotes. Do something that triggers happy thoughts in my your mind. We all know what ticks us off. Look a little deeper and listen to yourself, you will find things that will trigger you in the right direction.

I love reading my favorite blogs and often find myself refreshed within minutes. Check them out on my Blogroll and Blog Resources page.

5. Keep it simple

That’s it! Keep it simple and work with yourself. Don’t beat yourself for the time you wasted procrastinating your chores. Don’t let negative thoughts make you feel energy deprived. Just tell yourself that you can control your state. Listen to that inner voice which you might have ignored. Stop procrastinating and become an action hero. An action hero who believes in taking action!

If you aren’t ready to take on a task after all this, write a short to do list and give yourself a deadline. Come back to it and be honest with yourself. There’s no use forcing yourself to do things you don’t enjoy or can’t make enjoyable.

Wake up, Get up, Sit up, Stand up a little more straight, a little more stronger!

We all do our best when we’re enjoying the work we do. We all achieve the greatest results when we do things in earnest.

Question for you:

What is the one thing you would like to get done this week ? What action will you take to carry out this goal?

 

Just do it and have fun,

Standard

2 thoughts on “Stop Procrastinating And Become An Action Hero

  1. Its like you read my thoughts! You seem to know so much about this, such as you wrote the ebook in it or something. I believe that you simply can do with a few % to pressure the message home a bit, however instead of that, this is fantastic blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

  2. Yogasavy says:

    Thank you for stopping by. One of my dearest friend and her husband lives in Seattle. I go there very often!
    There are moments in my life when procrastination is a blessing for me. Helps me to re charge my batteries!
    However I do know that this phase of procrastination will pass so I enjoy the moment.

Leave a Reply

