stretch limits
inspiration

How To Increase Productivity By Stretching Your Limits


Have you felt overwhelmed living your life every single day? Balancing work, home and your own needs ? A majority of us, suffer from procrastination, laziness and inertia. A majority of us also want to increase our productivity. Stretch our limits and soar high!

Successful celebrities, athletes and entrepreneurs are adept at juggling a million things in their career and personal life. I’ve met some stay at home moms and career women who have mastered the art. Photo shoots, publicity events, film shoots, interviews, award ceremonies, caring for children & your husband, taking care of their home and health. It almost seems as if they have unlimited energy and time. The magic secret to high productivity is theirs to keep. Where does all this energy come from ? How do they get so much time in their 24 hours day ?

An insightful conversation

Last year, my parents visited us. One conversation stuck with me. We drove home on a beautiful evening after a Charity event. I was telling my father how it is so difficult to find time to take part in community events like dance & play performances.

ballet stretch

 

“I just don’t have the hours to put in for a rehearsal and even if I did take part in the community event, those groups have so many meetings. It’s just not possible.” Interestingly, my father had a different opinion on such matters.

He said, “You have enough time for the things that you can make time for” (read that again) The more active you are in your personal and work life, the more you will do. If you keep yourself limited to your own world and your box of comforts, you will never have time for anything.

This week, I’m working on an important project and work has kept me on my toes. I’m exhausted physically. In my mind, I’m racing against time to get stuff done. Managing my tasks effectively and de-prioritizing the ones that aren’t important.

I feel like I’m making time for things that matter. At home, I’m trying to get through my chores and have a lot more think time. Thinking about Love Moments Love Life – the blog, my eWorkBook and the next one to write after that. Usually, I try to balance things out but, this week it feels like life is increasingly productive.

 

Increase your productivity by stretching your limits

As I have stretched my limits both in physical stamina to get stuff done and mentally challenge my thinking, there have been a few things that have really helped me along the way. You could try being mindful of these little things and find yourself stretching yourself to new horizons!

 

stretch limits

Photo Credit – Anemone Jones

1. Give it your best shot and pour your heart into

“To genuinely discover your Spirit, stop talking, stop reading, and start listening to your heart.” – Sonia Choquette

If you are interacting with coworkers in meetings or just at home talking to loved ones, really give it your best shot. Pour your heart into those conversations and really understand the other person. Sometimes, it might take a shouting voice to reach inside you. In the tasks you do, engage and focus yourself fully and completely. If you are willing to give it your best, satisfaction is on it’s way.

2. Rule the situation and don’t let the situation rule you

“Don’t ask yourself what the world needs, ask yourself what makes you come alive. And then go and do that. Because what the world needs is people who are alive.” ~Howard Thurman

In our busy lives, we often find ourselves running from one task to another, from one appointment to the next feeling rushed and tired.

Are the people in your life ruling how you manage your time ? Are situations taking advantage of you instead of You making the most of your moments on earth ? Step back and decide how you can manage your situations.

Stretching your limits doesn’t mean you do anything and everything you that comes your way and stand up to the plate at ever opportunity. You need to pick your battles and pick them wisely.

3. Make time for encouragement, support and a eyes-wide open power nap.

Even though it’s a popular technique, I don’t mean for you to close your eyes for 20 minutes at work. My definition of a power nap is just some me-time where your mind is closed away from all external factors and relaxed in it’s own cosmos. Where you coexist with this universe as just another passer-by, soon you too will be gone. Awakening your spiritual being and finding encouragement through those around you. Supporting words, comments or merely light & happy conversations filled with laughter.

If you are stretching yourself and moving out of your comfort zone, you will need these small fixes of fulfilling and truly uplifting moments. A few minutes to yourself will keep you productive longer than constantly burning yourself without stepping back to rest.

4. Overcome Fear & Be Strong

“The amateur believes he must first overcome his fear; then he can do his work. The professional knows that fear can never be overcome.” ~Steven Pressfield.

“You do it anyway. there are no shortcuts. fear greets us all.”

~Tina Su

How many times have you prepared for an exam or interview or speech and felt fear ? In varying degrees, fear greets us in all it’s shapes and sizes. From anxiety to panic to immobilizing fear… the spectrum is vast.

It will lead to inaction, stagnation and procrastination. Many of us fear success! Yes, you read that correctly.

The one thing that I kept miles away from every waking moment was fear. Thoughts floated in and out of my head. I did not fuel them. Simply watched them go by.

“What if something goes wrong?” Instead I asked, “What can I do to get through this successfully?”

It’s like building muscle, your strength to fight fear will only grow stronger as you exercise it. Be positive and overcome fear.

5. Be Inside Out

“When the truth is hard for us to hear it is our ego being pricked by much needed wisdom. When our responsibilities get heavier to bear it is our conscience being called upon for much needed growth”

If you are going to make progress, the last thing you will need is stress and panic. When I started out this week, my mind was going “How will I get through all my work?” “What if I miss something and can’t put in my best?” “What if I’m too exhausted with things at home?”

All those negative voices needed to be silenced. As I got into the week, I was into my projects. Not stressed. Music and tea certainly helped.

I was inside out with everything around me. I was focused in that moment and in the task at hand. Present with mind and body. I wasn’t willing to let my soul feel defeated and dampened if things didn’t work. Some things went off track too. I just continued to plow through.

“I’m just another being on this planet experiencing the rhythms of every day life. Even if I had the choice to isolate from my responsibilities, purpose and duties, what else would I do? If I didn’t feel the pinch from the challenges in my personal and work life, how else would I grow?”

We all go through our tough situations and happy moments. It is adversity that creates character and individuality.

With these thoughts keeping me strong, I was able to disconnect my emotions of fear, anxiety and fatigue. I was able to reconnect with my inner-strength and move along with the mission in front of me.

Question for you:

How do you stretch outside your comfort box ? What are your tips on increasing productivity ?


As you wrap up this day and refuel yourself, stretch those wings & love life,

 

 

 

 

Standard

3 thoughts on “How To Increase Productivity By Stretching Your Limits

  1. bhargav says:

    its a challenge, and an art within an individual how to overcome and win thoes challenges,..

    i do strongly believe that we all are great challengers, philosophers, observers, the only thing missing is the vision which fades at times and we feel very much uncomfortable with situations,

    ” kabhi khud se bhi puch liya karo, kya chahiye…
    khwahishe bahot hai,.. manzil bhi karib hai,…
    thoda chalne ki hi to jarurat hai….”

    “kahin rukta hoon main, phir uthta hoon us panchi ko dekh kar jo na jaane kitne milo udta hai manzil ki aur,…

      • bhargav says:

        ya Sonal, i do agree to you,…every bit and every particle inspires and inspires a lot… one just needs to awake to the call…

        also, many many many thanks for your comment on ma post,..
        those are not just words, they are whispers from my heart.. :)

        thanks again…

Leave a Reply

